Happy Birthday to my Best Friend.

Today, my best friend turns 29. Happy Birthday to you, Staci Bishop.

I met Staci through a Get Trained class at the Stone. I was coaching table leaders and she was going to be one of the table leaders. We were at a leader meeting at Sally Lopez’s house before the semester started. Staci was loud and smart and energetic. All of these things combined with her strong West Texas accent made her hard to miss. And man, oh man, did she scare the crap out of me. I had no idea how I was going to coach this girl.

At the end of the night we started talking and the fear started to wear off some. We talked about where we were serving at the church. She surprised me when she said that she hadn’t found a place to serve. I said, well, now you have.  You’re coming with me.

5 years later she’s still with me.

Every once in a while we look at each other and wonder how in the world we are friends. We have absolutely nothing in common.

She loves football. I love futbol.
She is West Texas. I am East Texas. (two very different, but strange places)
She is a go-getter achiever. I am a slow-goer harmonizer.
She is a Bachelor watcher. I am a documentary watcher.
She is an incredible southern cook. I am an incredible southern food eater. (yes, this might be the glue that holds us together)
She is a fighter for all things good.  I am a watcher of documentaries of all things good.
She is a lover of triple x sweat pants. I am a lover of the perfect LBD.

We are as opposite as the day as long. But, we have one thing in common. And it’s the one thing that matters the most.

We have Jesus in common. Staci is the girl who fights for me to look more like Jesus. She is the girl who would walk into my room before work, flip on the light, put a cup of coffee on my desk and tell me to get up and read my Bible. She is the girl who sends me text messages to see how I am doing in my consistency in reading the Bible, in prayer, in loving Jesus, in loving Kyle, in loving my community, in fighting sin. She is the girl who perseveres me when I don’t want to be persevered. She is the girl who helps me do the seemingly impossible. She is the girl who believes in me, who prays for me, who loves me.

And man, oh man, do I love this girl. The Lord brought my sweet Staci into my life in a time when I desperately needed a friend to help me along in life. She is the most generous person I know. She withholds nothing from those who are blessed enough to have her in their world.

Thank you, Staci Bishop. You are the best friend a girl could ask for.

staci

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to my Best Friend.

Leave a Reply

